The attribute of God that speaks most prominently to me, in the place where I am right now, is His peace. I often find myself chaotic, with actions and attitudes that reflect that chaos. When I consider God, I realize that He never loses ‘His cool.’ He never runs around covering His bases because He was somehow blindsided or because He was sloppy in executing His affairs. He has never gotten behind time: He sent His son ‘in the fullness of time.’

 

There have often been times when it appears that everything didn’t go according to the original plan of God. Those aberrations are always because of what we do or don’t do, and never because of Him. And yet in each of these situations, if we look close enough we find that in each of our failings, God has already pre-engineered a plan for taking our bumbling and turning it into a greater blessing. Joseph’s brothers meant it for evil; God meant it for good.

 

My current prayer is: Let the peace of God guard my heart and my mind.

 

Jonas J. Borntreger

2/28/2006

